§9 xArm 850

Limitations and Open Technical Questions

What the machine cannot do, and the figures the UFACTORY sources do not give.

Start Here

This section says what the machine cannot do, where it must not be used, and which figures the UFACTORY sources do not give. Read it as the edges you work inside: some are limits UFACTORY states, and some are figures you will have to do without.

  • 0–50 °C

    rated ambient temperature1

  • 25–85%

    relative humidity, non-condensing2

  • below 2000 m

    rated altitude3

  • A stated limit comes from UFACTORY. For example, the 850 is for indoor use only, out of direct sunlight4.
  • A missing figure is one the UFACTORY sources do not give, such as an IP rating for the 850 arm or its control boxes5. Where it matters, the lesson says so, so that you do not assume a figure the sources do not give.

S2 in one line: S2 is the xArm 850 arm that picks up incoming material and moves it between receiving, staging and production67.

Look Back

A question from earlier on, to keep it fresh. Skip it if you like; nothing depends on it.

q-s07-b-06Safety The arm is running. A colleague says the cell has safety sensors that will stop the arm if you walk in, but nobody has confirmed it. What do you do?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. Do not rely on a safeguard nobody has confirmed, and stay out of the working area while the arm runs.1413

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. Do not rely on a safeguard nobody has confirmed. UFACTORY says no people should be in the working area while the arm is operating.1413

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. Collision detection is not a safeguard. The UFACTORY sources do not call it safety-rated, and it must never stand in for protective devices.5448

  4. Check option (d)

    Not this one. Do not treat IntelliMake's cameras or S11 as a safeguard, and do not count on them to protect you.55

q-s05-b-01 What is the most the 850 can carry, counting its gripper?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. The rated maximum payload is 5 kg. This platform infers, from UFACTORY's payload setting, that the tool counts toward it.89

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. 20 kg is the arm's own weight, without its control box. The payload is 5 kg.568

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. 850 is the reach, in millimeters: 850 mm. The payload is 5 kg.578

Choose your depth

Four depths, one page. Switch at any time: every tier stays open to everyone. What the four tiers mean

1Beginner

Where It Cannot Go

For: Anyone with no robotics background: a visitor, a new operator, a manager
Kind of task: Recognize and recall, with plain-language explanations and pictures

In this part you learn the few hard limits a newcomer must know: how much the arm can carry, where it may and may not be used, and why being called a "cobot" does not make it safe to stand beside. No robotics background is needed.

How Much It Can Carry

  • It carries at most 5 kg8. This platform infers that the tool on its end counts toward that 5 kg, so a heavy gripper leaves less for the part9.

Where It Can Work

  • It is for indoor use only, out of direct sunlight4.
  • The air around it must be between 0 °C and 50 °C1.
  • Relative humidity must be between 25% and 85%, and non-condensing, which means water must not condense out of the air2.
  • The air must be free of corrosive gases or liquids, flammable materials, oil mist, salt spray, dust and metal powder10.
  • UFACTORY's manual warns against letting water or dust into the arm or the controller11.
  • The UFACTORY sources give no IP rating, the code that says how well a housing keeps out dust and water, for the arm or its control boxes. The only one it lists is IP40, for the Gripper G2 accessory. So do not assume the arm resists water or dust at all5.

Is It Safe to Stand Beside?

  • UFACTORY's product page calls its arms collaborative robots, or "cobots". Its own 850 manual says no people should be in the working area while the arm is operating1213.
  • A3 reports that the 2025 edition of the robot safety standard, ISO 10218, drops the term "collaborative robot", because only an application can be confirmed as collaborative. The label on the arm does not make a station collaborative12.
  • So stay out of the working area while the arm runs, and do not rely on a safeguard nobody has confirmed14.

Buying It and Keeping It Up to Date

  • UFACTORY says its Studio software is free and gets monthly upgrades that add features15.
  • UFACTORY states a lead time of 2–3 months for the 85016.
  • UFACTORY has announced no successor model, product roadmap or end-of-life date for the 85017.

Check Yourself

Answer, then check. Each option has its own feedback, and nothing is scored.

q-s09-b-01 Could the 850 work outdoors under a shelter where rain sometimes blows in?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. It is for indoor use only, water must be kept out of the arm and the controller, and the UFACTORY sources give no IP rating for them.4115

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. The temperature range is only one condition. The 850 is also for indoor use only, and water must be kept out of it.1411

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. The UFACTORY sources give no IP rating for the arm or its control boxes. The only one it lists, IP40, is for the Gripper G2 accessory.5

q-s09-b-02 The 850 carries at most 5 kg. A heavy gripper is fitted to its end. Can it still pick up a 5 kg part?

About:8

  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. The 5 kg covers the tool and the part it holds together, so a heavy gripper leaves less for the part. That the tool counts is this platform's inference from UFACTORY's figure.89

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. This platform infers that the 5 kg covers the tool as well as the part it holds, so a heavy gripper leaves less for the part.89

q-s09-b-03Safety The 850 is sold as a "cobot", a collaborative robot. May you stand in its working area while it runs?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. UFACTORY's own manual says no people should be in the working area while the arm is operating, and you should not rely on a safeguard nobody has confirmed.1314

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. A label is not a safeguard. UFACTORY's own 850 manual says no people should be in the working area during operation, and only an application, not an arm, can be confirmed as collaborative.1213

2Novice

Operating Limits and Unfinished Features

For: Someone who will work near or with the cell: operator, trainee technician
Kind of task: Explain and sequence: put steps in order, match parts to their functions

In this part you learn the space the arm can reach, the full list of conditions it is rated for, and which of its software features are not finished. It is for someone who will work near or with the cell.

The Space It Can Reach

  • The 850's Cartesian working envelope is X ±850 mm and Y ±850 mm, and Z from -400 mm to 1214 mm, measured from the base18.
  • UFACTORY says its published working-range diagrams for the 850 are for safety assessment only19.

The Rest of the Environment Rules

  • It is rated for altitudes below 2000 m3.
  • It must be kept free of mechanical shock, vibration, electromagnetic noise and radioactive materials20.
  • UFACTORY rates it for ISO Class 5 cleanrooms, so clean air is not the problem21.
  • Wet, dusty or oily places are. This platform infers that it is not suited to washdown, outdoor use or a machining area with coolant mist or metal chips, unless it is given extra protection that the UFACTORY sources do not specify22.

Software Features That Are Not Finished

  • Collision detection that works from motor current can trigger falsely if the payload mass or center of mass is set wrongly. UFACTORY's advice for pick-and-place is to set the payload before the pick command and reset it after the place command23.
  • UFACTORY's API is open source, but joining the 850 to other products needs custom code: most customers write their own libraries24.
  • Studio's environment simulation, which checks for collisions with modeled cubes, cylinders and tables, is still in beta testing25.
  • Self-collision detection for two UFACTORY arms sharing a workspace has been announced, but is still in research and development26.

Check Yourself

Answer, then check. Each option has its own feedback, and nothing is scored.

q-s09-n-01 A colleague wants to move the 850 into a machining area with coolant mist and metal chips. Is it suitable?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. This platform infers it is not suited to such areas without protection the UFACTORY sources do not specify. The manual also requires air free of oil mist and metal powder.2210

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. A cleanroom rating is about clean air. It says nothing about coolant mist or metal chips, and the manual rules out oil mist and metal powder.2110

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. Temperature is one condition among several. The air must also be free of oil mist, dust and metal powder.110

q-s09-n-02Safety Studio's Settings page offers a collision sensitivity from 1 to 5. A script sets it to 0 through the Python SDK. What does that do?

About:27

  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. The Studio glossary, the Python SDK and the Developer Manual give a range of 0 to 5, and 0 disables collision detection. The Settings page does not show that.27

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. The Settings page says 1 to 5, but the SDK and the other UFACTORY documents accept 0 to 5, and 0 disables collision detection.27

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. 0 does the opposite: in the Studio glossary, the Python SDK and the Developer Manual it switches collision detection off.27

q-s09-n-03 A pick-and-place program keeps stopping with collision detections, though nothing is touched. What should you check first?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. Current-based collision detection can trigger falsely when these are set wrongly. The payload is typically set before the pick and reset after the place.23

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. Humidity limits concern the environment. False collision triggers come from a wrongly set payload mass or center of mass.223

3Intermediate

Software and Firmware Limits

For: Someone who will set up, program or maintain the arm: technician, student engineer
Kind of task: Apply: work through written scenarios that need a decision (which mode, which setting, what to do about this error), with feedback on each choice

In this part you learn the limits that show up when you program the arm: which figures the UFACTORY sources do not give, which moves the controller refuses, and why the firmware on a particular arm matters. It is for someone who will set up, program or maintain the arm.

Taught Points Against Computed Points

  • UFACTORY states a repeatability of ±0.02 mm, which is how closely the arm returns to a taught point. The UFACTORY sources give no absolute accuracy figure, which is how closely the arm reaches a computed coordinate28.
  • That matters for offline programming and camera-guided picking, which both work from computed coordinates. Nor do the UFACTORY sources say how much UFACTORY's kinematic calibration improves accuracy29.

Moves the Controller Will Not Make

  • Near a singularity the arm cannot carry out a planned straight-line or circular move. It stops instead. UFACTORY advises avoiding the central area near the base30.
  • In straight-line and circular moves the joints can exceed their maximum speed and acceleration, because joint positions and tool positions are related non-linearly31.

Why the Firmware Version Matters

  • Replacing an 850's control box can cause false collision detections, because the joint friction parameters may no longer match. On the 850 those parameters are stored in the arm, and pressing and releasing the emergency stop reloads them32.
  • Firmware V2.7.0 fixed a known issue: sending zero speed in joint-speed mode could still move the arm unintentionally. Earlier firmware may carry this issue33. As read on 2026-10-22, after that day's update, the xArm 850 at S2 ran firmware 2.8.2, later than V2.7.034.
  • Arms whose serial number has an 'E' as the third character from the end need at least firmware V2.7.035.
  • UFACTORY publishes a table of recommended matching sets of versions. Its newest set, as the page read on 2026-10-26, is firmware 2.8.2, Studio 2.8.2, Python SDK 1.18.4 and ROS/ROS2 2.0.0; a combination the table does not list is not one UFACTORY recommends36.
  • The firmware V2.8.2 release note added more status reporting, relative-position commands in Cartesian online planning and support for a new force-torque sensor37.
  • The UFACTORY sources give no public known-issues list for current firmware. Release notes list only fixes after the fact, so open defects in the installed firmware cannot be checked38.

Language and ROS Support

  • The official Python SDK supports Python 3 only39.
  • UFACTORY's ROS 2 packages are tested only on the ROS 2 distributions that have a matching code branch: Foxy, Galactic, Humble, Jazzy and Rolling40.

Check Yourself

Answer, then check. Each option has its own feedback, and nothing is scored.

q-s09-i-01 An 850's serial number has an 'E' as the third character from the end, and its controller runs firmware older than V2.7.0. What should you do?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. Firmware V2.7.0 added compatibility for such arms, so they need at least that version. Keep Studio, the SDK and ROS to UFACTORY's recommended matching set as well.3536

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. Arms with that serial number need at least firmware V2.7.0, which added compatibility for them.35

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. The compatibility is in the firmware, from V2.7.0. UFACTORY also publishes a table of recommended matching sets of firmware, Studio, SDK and ROS versions; a combination the table does not list is not one UFACTORY recommends.3536

q-s09-i-02Safety Why worry about sending zero-speed commands in joint-speed mode on older firmware?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. Firmware V2.7.0 fixed it, and earlier firmware may still carry the issue. A command meant to hold the arm still could move it.33

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. Not on older firmware. Sending zero speed in joint-speed mode could still move the arm until V2.7.0 fixed it.33

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. The UFACTORY sources give no public known-issues list. Release notes list only fixes after the fact, so open defects in the installed firmware cannot be checked.38

q-s09-i-03 After a control box is replaced, the 850 reports collisions that did not happen. What is the likely cause and remedy?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. On the 850 the friction parameters are stored in the arm and reloaded that way.32

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. Near a singularity the arm stops planned Cartesian moves. False collisions after a box swap come from mismatched friction parameters.3032

4Expert

What the UFACTORY Sources Do Not Give

For: Someone who designs, integrates or changes the cell: integrator, engineer, agent developer
Kind of task: Analyze and decide: weigh trade-offs, resolve contradictions, critique a configuration

In this part you work out which figures the UFACTORY sources do not give, what each one stops you estimating or claiming, and which of the tools UFACTORY does provide carry limits of their own. It is for someone who designs, integrates or changes the cell.

Figures You Design Without

  • Payload diagram. The UFACTORY sources give none: nothing in them shows how the allowable payload falls as the load's center of mass moves away from the flange, or with speed. Integrators need it to size grippers and parts41.
  • Speed at full payload. The UFACTORY sources give no cycle-time data, and no maximum speed or acceleration for the arm carrying its full 5 kg across its reach42.
  • Collaborative limits. The sources show no assessment of the 850 for collaborative power and force limiting. The SGS verification covers only EN ISO 10218-1:2011, so the sources do not document permissible contact forces and speeds for collaborative use43.
  • Service life. The UFACTORY sources give no design life, MTBF or harmonic-drive service life. The only durability figure is a warranty note that it was stress-tested for at least 15,000 hours of full-time operation44.
  • Accuracy. The UFACTORY sources give no absolute positioning accuracy, and do not say how much calibration improves it29.
  • Joint internals. The product page, the manuals and the URDF give no motor ratings, harmonic-drive ratios or encoder types for each joint45.

What a Safety Argument Cannot Claim

  • The UFACTORY sources state no Performance Level, Category or SIL for any 850 safety function, and show no TÜV certification. Do not assume any46.
  • The UFACTORY sources do not say whether collision detection, the safety boundary and reduced mode are enforced independently of the motion-command path. Nor do they say whether the boundary checks the tool and the links or only the TCP; the documentation mentions only the TCP47.
  • So treat those functions as configurable controller functions, never as a replacement for the risk-assessed protective devices wired to the EI and SI inputs48.
  • The manual's emergency-stop figures do not fit together. One section says arm power is removed within 300 ms; another calls the stop Category 1, which decelerates with drive power on, with stopping times of 521 to 885 ms. The UFACTORY sources do not explain how the two fit49.

Where the Controller's Limits Surface

  • A straight-line or circular move that would drive a joint past its maximum speed is one likely cause of controller error 24, "Speed Exceeds Limit". This platform infers the link; UFACTORY does not make it in one statement5031.

Tools That Exist, with Their Own Limits

  • Kinematic calibration can be added to the URDF model in UFACTORY's ROS packages, for arms produced after August 202351.
  • Collision detection based on torque sensors, added in Studio V2.7.0, has a documented limit: at end speeds of 100 mm/s or more, a collision may damage the sensor52.
  • UFACTORY says its unified MoveIt configuration package for ROS 1 may replace the older per-model packages in the future53.

Check Yourself

Answer, then check. Each option has its own feedback, and nothing is scored.

q-s09-e-01 You must estimate how long the 850 takes to move a heavy load across its reach, and size a gripper that holds it off-center. Which figures missing from the UFACTORY sources stand in your way? Choose all that apply.
  1. Check option (a)

    This one applies. Applies. Without them, move times cannot be estimated from the arm's own figures.42

  2. Check option (b)

    This one applies. Applies. It would show how the allowable payload falls as the center of mass moves away from the flange, which is what sizing an off-center gripper needs.41

  3. Check option (c)

    This one does not apply. The IP rating concerns dust and water protection. It says nothing about move time or payload.5

  4. Check option (d)

    This one does not apply. That matters to a safety argument, not to how long a move takes or what the gripper can hold.46

  5. Check option (e)

    This one does not apply. Accuracy matters for reaching computed coordinates. It does not set move time or allowable payload.29

q-s09-e-02Safety A risk assessment for an 850 application proposes counting collision detection, the safety boundary and reduced mode as its protective measures. Is that sound?
  1. Check option (a)

    Correct. Right. The UFACTORY sources state no Performance Level or SIL for them and do not say whether they are enforced independently of the motion-command path, so they cannot replace protective devices.464748

  2. Check option (b)

    Not this one. The label does not establish a collaborative application, and no Performance Level, Category or SIL is stated for these functions. Relying on them leaves the application without a rated safeguard.1246

  3. Check option (c)

    Not this one. UFACTORY's documentation mentions only the TCP, and it does not say whether the boundary checks the tool and the links. Setting it around the TCP does not show that the tool and the links are covered.47

Not settled

Open Questions · 67

What the sources do not settle for this section. Nothing here is papered over with a plausible number.

  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source gives an IP (ingress protection) rating for the 850 arm or its control boxes. The 850 technical specifications list IP40 only for the Gripper G2 accessory.

    See reference 5
  • Kind: Contradiction

    The 850 product page calls UFACTORY arms 'Collaborative Robots' and 'cobots'. A3 says ISO 10218:2025 drops 'collaborative robot' because only an application can be confirmed as collaborative, and UFACTORY's own 850 manual says no people should be in the working area during operation. The marketing label does not establish that S2 is a collaborative application.

    See reference 12
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source announces future 850 hardware: no successor model, higher-payload variant, published product roadmap or end-of-life date.

    See reference 17
  • Kind: Contradiction

    UFACTORY documents disagree on the collision sensitivity range. The Studio Settings page says 1 to 5, while the Studio glossary, the Python SDK and the xArm Developer Manual say 0 to 5, with 0 disabling collision detection. A learner reading only the Settings page would not learn that the value can switch detection off.

    See reference 27
  • Kind: Gap

    The absolute positioning accuracy of the 850, and how much UFACTORY's post-August-2023 kinematic calibration improves it, is not published in any fetched source. This matters for offline programming and vision-guided picking, which rely on computed rather than taught coordinates.

    See reference 29
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source gives a public known-issues list for current 850 firmware. Release notes list only fixes after the fact (lim-029), so open defects in the installed firmware cannot be checked.

    See reference 38
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched source gives a payload diagram for the 850: how the allowable payload falls as the load's center of mass moves away from the flange, or with speed. Integrators need this to size grippers and parts.

    See reference 41
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched source gives cycle-time data or the maximum speed and acceleration the 850 achieves while carrying its full 5 kg payload across its reach.

    See reference 42
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched source shows the 850 assessed for collaborative power and force limiting (the former ISO/TS 15066 content, now in ISO 10218-2:2025). The SGS verification covers only EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (safety-082), so the fetched sources do not document permissible contact forces and speeds for collaborative use.

    See reference 43
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched source gives a design life, MTBF or harmonic-drive service life for the 850. The only durability figure is the warranty note that it was stress-tested for at least 15,000 hours of full-time operation.

    See reference 44
  • Kind: Gap

    Per-joint component data for the 850 (motor model and rating, harmonic-drive ratio, encoder type and whether it is single- or multi-turn absolute, and joint-module sizes for J1–J6) is not published in the product page, the manuals or the URDF fetched.

    See reference 45
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source states an ISO 13849-1 Performance Level (PL) or Category, or an IEC 62061 SIL, for any 850 safety function (e-stop, EI/SI inputs, collision detection, safety boundary or reduced mode). No TÜV certification was found. Do not assume any.

    See reference 46
  • Kind: Gap

    No UFACTORY source was found that says whether the software safety functions (collision detection, safety boundary, reduced mode) are enforced independently of the motion-command path. It is also unknown whether the safety boundary checks the tool and the arm's links, or only the TCP; the documentation mentions only the TCP.

    See reference 47
  • Kind: Contradiction

    The 850 manual's e-stop figures appear inconsistent. Section 2.1.2 says arm power is removed within 300 ms of pressing the e-stop. Section 7.8 says the e-stop is Stop Category 1, which decelerates 'with drive power on'. Section 7.9 gives Stop Category 1 stopping times of 521 to 885 ms. The UFACTORY sources do not explain how power removal within 300 ms fits a powered deceleration lasting up to 885 ms (the brakes may do the rest of the stopping, but no source says so).

    See reference 49
  • Kind: Gap

    No dedicated teach pendant for the 850 is documented in the sources fetched: teaching is by browser (UFACTORY Studio) and by hand guiding. User Manual V2.3.0 lists stop categories for a 'Three-Position Enabling Device', but no source fetched names the product or says whether it is offered for the 850.

    See reference 58
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the speed of the 850's internal base-to-flange Ethernet cable: gigabit or 1000M CAT5E on the product page and in the online hardware manual, but 100M and 'Standard CAT5' in User Manual V2.3.0.

    See reference 59
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Gripper specifications differ between sources: the online hardware manual's 'Gripper G2(AG1200)' has 10–50 N clamping force, 800 g weight and Modbus RTU, while User Manual V2.3.0's '850 Gripper' has 30 N maximum clamping force, 802 g weight and Modbus TCP. They may describe different gripper generations; the sources do not say.

    See reference 60
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Vacuum gripper specifications differ between sources: the online hardware manual (AS1200) gives -55 kPa, more than 4 L/min, 20 mA quiescent and 500 mA peak current, while User Manual V2.3.0 gives 78% vacuum, more than 5.6 L/min, 30 mA quiescent and 400 mA peak. They may be different product revisions; the sources do not say.

    See reference 61
  • Kind: Gap

    No specification for the 850's BIO Gripper G2 or 6-axis force/torque sensor (payload, force range, resolution) was found in the product page or the 850 manuals fetched; only their names are listed.

    See reference 62
  • Kind: Gap

    The physical I/O that will carry signals between S2 and S4 (and the other stations) is not defined. It may differ from the simulation's signals.

    See reference 63
  • Kind: Contradiction

    The future 3D-printed flow in the IntelliMake diagram has no S2 step (printed parts go from S7 straight to S6), but S2's stated role includes handling material for 3D printing in the future. What S2 does in the future flow is unresolved: IntelliMake says it could be S3, S4 or S7, that this is subject to change, and that the cell is not locked into any configuration.

    See reference 64
  • Kind: Gap

    Cycle times for S2's moves (S1 to S3, S3 to S4, and a defective part's move to the defects area) and for the S4/S5 laser step are not documented, so throughput and the benefit of two arms cannot be quantified.

    See reference 65
  • Kind: Gap

    The make, model and weight of S2's suction tool are not documented. It is a rounded mount with five ports, of which it uses one, basically the same attachment as S6's (int-069); that it is UFACTORY's Vacuum Gripper (AS1200), which also has five suction cups (comp-069), is not confirmed. Nor is it known whether the four unused ports are sealed.

    See reference 66
  • Kind: Gap

    The layout draws unlabeled return paths from the laser and S6 region back toward S1 and S2. Whether reworked parts re-enter through S1 or S2, and what S2 does in rework, is not documented.

    See reference 67
  • Kind: Gap

    IntelliMake's reason for putting the 850 at S2 and the xArm 6 at S6 is not documented. IntelliMake says only that the cell uses several arms for task-specific work and could add more (int-057).

    See reference 68
  • Kind: Contradiction

    The project specification describes S6 as the downstream arm that handles parts after processing, but IntelliMake's future 3D-printed flow has S6 handling parts before laser engraving (S7 → S6 → S4/S5). S6's role is therefore not simply 'after processing' in the future flow.

    See reference 69
  • Kind: Contradiction

    The earlier target for the S2 agent is level 5E, limited autonomous control, with the goal of not needing human approval (int-041). A later statement says the agent operates the real arm in fulfilling orders but is not expected to work semi-autonomously: it reports deviations instead of correcting them (int-090, int-091). That answer took none of the options on whether 5E stays the goal. The later statement S148 settles it: 'Runs the order, reports problems', for 'Both arms'. On the order's normal path the agent moves the arm with no person approving each move; anything off the path, it pauses and reports with a recommendation, and a person decides; the option chosen names this the current design, 5E (int-095). So 5E stays the design for both arms' agents, the goal of not needing human approval holds on the normal path, and int-041 is kept as history, marked as superseded.

    See reference 70
  • Kind: Gap

    How S3 is divided between its staging and defects areas, how many colour areas staging holds, and how many cards a stack may hold are not documented. Whether S3 can hold both kinds of material is itself open: a separate defects station could be added if it cannot (int-087).

    See reference 71
  • Kind: Gap

    Which decisions on the order's normal path remain the agent's own is not stated. The parts' route is fixed, S1 to S3 and S3 to S4 (int-081), and a defective part takes its own move, to the defects area on S3 (int-107), so the choice between S4 and S3 that the earlier design gave S2 no longer arises, while level 5E rests on decisions within limits that fixed rules do not make (lvl-011, lvl-015).

    See reference 72
  • Kind: Gap

    Whether a card a camera judges defective is on the order's normal path, so that the agent sends it to a defects area itself (for S2, S3's defects area, int-107; where the xArm 6 side's defects go is not known, int-539), or off it, so that the agent pauses and a person decides, is not decided. Until it is, the simulation is designed to pause and report; that behavior is not yet built.

    See reference 73
  • Kind: Gap

    How S3's defects area is managed, for example who empties it, is not known.

    See reference 74
  • Kind: Gap

    Where defects found on the xArm 6 side go is not known: another area for them is to be determined.

    See reference 75
  • Kind: Gap

    Which conveyor would carry defects identified at S6 back to S2, if that route were used (int-541), is not stated.

    See reference 76
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched source compares the 850's ±0.02 mm repeatability quantitatively with conventional (non-collaborative) industrial robots of similar payload, beyond UFACTORY's own marketing phrase 'industrial grade performance'.

    See reference 77
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source says whether the 850 is suitable or validated for power and force limiting collaborative applications, gives contact force or pressure figures, or gives a force or torque threshold for each collision sensitivity level.

    See reference 78
  • Kind: Gap

    The fetched UFACTORY manual gives Stop Category 1 stop data only for Joints 1 to 3 at 100% extension, 100% speed and a 5 kg payload. No data was found for Joints 4 to 6, for other speeds or payloads, for Stop Category 2 (the SI safeguard stop), or for stopping after a collision is detected. These are needed for any separation-distance calculation.

    See reference 79
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source gives an explicit intended-use or reasonably foreseeable misuse statement for the 850, beyond environmental limits and general warnings.

    See reference 80
  • Kind: Gap

    No fetched UFACTORY source identifies specific pinch or crush points on the 850, such as between links or at the gripper fingers. The pinch and crush hazard descriptions found come from OSHA's general guidance.

    See reference 81
  • Kind: Gap

    The EC/EU Declaration of Conformity for the 850 was not found or fetched. The SGS verifications say the CE mark depends on one, and the product page says only 'Certifications Complete(CE)'. Nothing fetched from UFACTORY states conformity with ISO 10218-1:2025 or ISO 10218-2.

    See reference 82
  • Kind: Gap

    The fetched text does not tie the certificate model numbers XI13 and XI15 to the name 'UFACTORY 850', although UFACTORY links the certificates from the 850 manual. It is also unknown which of these model numbers appears on the S2 arm's label.

    See reference 83
  • Kind: Gap

    The 850 manual's 'Limitation of Liability' sentence reads, as published, that safety information 'must be construed as a warranty by UFACTORY [sic], that the 850 will not cause injury or damage even if all safety instructions are complied with'. This is the opposite of what a limitation of liability usually says, and is probably a drafting error for 'must not be construed'. UFACTORY's intended wording is unconfirmed. Do not read it as a guarantee of safety.

    See reference 84
  • Kind: Gap

    The ISO 10218-1/-2:2025 texts are sold, not free, and were not read, and ISO/TS 15066 was not read either. No clause numbers, force or pressure limits, or required PL values from them are recorded in this corpus.

    See reference 85
  • Kind: Gap

    The locations of the S2 emergency stops are unknown: whether any e-stop buttons beyond the control box button are wired to EI, where they are, and whether S2 shares an emergency stop circuit with S6 or other stations.

    See reference 86
  • Kind: Gap

    The position of the S2 control box is unknown: whether it is outside the arm's working range, at 0.6 to 1.5 m height, with its e-stop reachable.

    See reference 87
  • Kind: Gap

    S2's guarding and protective devices are unknown: whether fences, interlocked doors, light curtains, safety mats or laser scanners are wired to the SI protective stop input, or whether SI is still in its factory default state with no additional safety equipment.

    See reference 88
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown whether any S2 safety signals pass through a PLC, and if so whether it is a safety-rated PLC.

    See reference 89
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown whether S2 is intended to be a collaborative application, with people entering the arm's working area during automatic operation. If it is, it is also unknown which collaborative method is used and how it has been validated.

    See reference 90
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown whether the documented default Advanced Settings password has been changed on the S2 controller, and who can change its safety-related settings.

    See reference 91
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown which CI inputs at S2, if any, are configured as Stop Moving, Safeguard Reset, Reduced Mode or Manual Mode, and where any safeguard reset button is located relative to the safeguarded zone.

    See reference 92
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown whether S2's working range, including its suction tool, is marked on the floor or bench as UFACTORY recommends.

    See reference 93
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown whether S2 operators have been trained, as UFACTORY requires, and whether maintenance and safety-configuration changes are documented.

    See reference 94
  • Kind: Gap

    It is unknown what S2's suction tool does to a held workpiece on power loss or e-stop (whether the suction keeps holding it or it drops), and what lies beneath the arm's path if a part drops.

    See reference 95
  • Kind: Gap

    The controller type of the xArm 850 at S2 (AC or DC) is not recorded (decisions file 10-16 §1.3), and its SDK version is unknown. Its firmware version, 2.6.0, was read on 2026-10-16 (int-549); firmware determines which reduced-mode and fence APIs are available (1.2.0 or 1.2.11 and above).

    See reference 96
  • Kind: Contradiction

    safety-133 lists the S2 arm's TCP payload and mounting direction among its settings that are unknown. UFACTORY Studio's Device Info page for the xArm 850 showed, on 2026-10-16, a payload setting of 0.61 kg (int-552) and a floor mounting setting (int-551). For those two settings the 2026-10-16 readings are current; the payload's centre of gravity and the other settings safety-133 lists are still unknown. safety-133 was split on 2026-10-20: int-552 and int-551 carry those two readings, and safety-608 carries the settings still unknown, with the citation of safety-133; safety-133 is kept as history.

    See reference 97
  • Kind: Gap

    The S2 arm's current safety settings are unknown: collision detection on or off, collision sensitivity level, safety boundary on and its limits, reduced mode and its limits, self-collision tool model, the TCP payload's centre of gravity, and whether the controller's mounting setting matches how the arm is installed. Its payload and mounting settings were read from its controller on 2026-10-16 (int-552, int-551): they are the controller's settings, not a weighing or an inspection of how the arm is fixed.

    See reference 98
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the range of joint 2 (J2): the product page, the online hardware manual and the uf850 URDF give ±132°, but User Manual V2.3.0 (PDF, 2024) gives -118°~120°. The manual's figures match none of the other three sources; the three agreeing sources are probably current, but this is not confirmed. The project reads the manual's J2 as an xArm 6 figure (its support article and URDF) copied in error (spec-581), so the project uses the published ±132° (spec-091; S157); the sources still disagree.

    See reference 99
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the range of joint 3 (J3): the product page, the online hardware manual and the uf850 URDF give -242°~3.5°, but User Manual V2.3.0 (PDF, 2024) gives -225°~11°. The manual's figures match none of the other three sources; the three agreeing sources are probably current, but this is not confirmed. The project reads the manual's J3 as an xArm 6 figure (its support article and URDF) copied in error (spec-581), so the project uses the published -242°~3.5° (spec-091; S157); the sources still disagree.

    See reference 100
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the range of joint 5 (J5): the product page, the online hardware manual and the uf850 URDF give ±124°, but User Manual V2.3.0 (PDF, 2024) gives -97°~180°. The manual's figures match none of the other three sources; the three agreeing sources are probably current, but this is not confirmed. The project reads the manual's J5 as the xArm 6's range copied in error, so the project uses ±124° for the 850's J5 (spec-090; S70, S155); the sources still disagree.

    See reference 101
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the 850's typical power consumption: 240 W on the product page and in the online hardware manual, 200 W in User Manual V2.3.0.

    See reference 102
  • Kind: Gap

    No IP (ingress protection) rating for the UFACTORY 850 arm or its control box was found. The product page, the online hardware manual and User Manual V2.3.0 give none, though the online manual rates the Gripper G2 accessory IP40, and the manuals warn against liquids and humid environments.

    See reference 103
  • Kind: Gap

    No noise (sound pressure) figure for the UFACTORY 850 arm was found in the product page, the online hardware manual or User Manual V2.3.0; the only noise figure given is for the Vacuum Gripper accessory (<60 dB at 30 cm).

    See reference 104
  • Kind: Gap

    No dimensioned base drawing values (bolt-circle diameter, base height) were captured as text: the product page and manuals show 'Robot base mounting' and flange drawings only as images.

    See reference 105
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the AC control box dimensions: 345 × 135 × 101 mm on the product page and in the online hardware manual, 376 × 145 × 130 mm in User Manual V2.3.0.

    See reference 106
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the control box's RS-485 ports: one RS-485 master on the product page and in the online hardware manual, but one master and one slave (2 × RS-485) in User Manual V2.3.0.

    See reference 107
  • Kind: Contradiction

    Sources disagree on the 850's end-effector communication protocol: the product page says Modbus RTU, and the online hardware manual's Tool RS485 section and Gripper G2 table describe RS-485 with Modbus RTU, but the specification tables of the online hardware manual and User Manual V2.3.0 say Modbus TCP. The tool port is RS-485, which suggests RTU, but this is not confirmed.

    See reference 108
  • Kind: Gap

    The 850 product page and manual text do not themselves state conformance to ISO 10218-1 or ISO/TS 15066. The only ISO 10218 evidence found is the SGS verification linked from the manual, which is against EN ISO 10218-1:2011 (safety-082, safety-086). No assessment against the 2025 editions was found.

    See reference 109
  • Kind: Gap

    The product page lists the 850's 'Base Connector Type' as M8*4; the page does not say which connector this is. The online manual describes an M8 4-pole Ethernet interface at the end flange, not the base, so the meaning of this row is unclear.

    See reference 110
Provenance

References · 110

Each number in the text points here. Every entry states its confidence class in words and keeps its evidence one click away. How to read the labels.

Key to the badges
Confidence: Verified
A manufacturer or IntelliMake document says so, the project owner stated it as the design, or it was observed directly. It does not mean anyone measured it at S2.
Confidence: Inferred
Reasoned from Verified facts. The reasoning is printed with the record.
Confidence: Assumed
Plausible but untested. The record says how it would be checked.
Kind: Gap
Not known. No figure or answer is given in its place.
Kind: Contradiction
Sources disagree. Both sides are shown, and the site does not pick one silently.
Kind: Recommendation
Project advice drawn from the records it cites. Not a fact about the machine and not a confidence class, so the filter never hides it.
Awaiting cell access
Awaiting cell access: could be confirmed or corrected once the physical S2 cell can be observed.
This project's simulation and agent design, not the physical cell
This project's simulation and agent design, not the physical cell.

Image Credits

  • 3D model: © 2018 UFACTORY Inc., BSD-3-Clause, from UFACTORY Inc. (xArm-Developer/xarm_ros2). License text · Source

Sources for This Section

  • CODE_SESSION 01 — xArm 850 Interactive Learning Platform (project specification) · Derek Stringfellow (project owner)
    Derek Stringfellow, project record · Project-internal record · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • Collision Detection in UFACTORY Robotic Arms: Current and Dynamic Model-based Feature (UFACTORY support article) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • IntelliMake Phase 1 Factory: Autonomous Production Demonstrator (infographic) · IntelliMake.org (IntelliMake)
    © IntelliMake.org. Used with permission; redrawn for this platform. · Cleared for use by its owner · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 4 records here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • Owner statements from 2026-09-24 onward (verbatim; S40 and later) · Derek Stringfellow (project owner)
    Derek Stringfellow, project record · Project-internal record · retrieved 2026-10-04 · cited by 8 records here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • Owner statements, 2026-09-21 (verbatim) · Derek Stringfellow (project owner)
    Derek Stringfellow, project record · Project-internal record · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • SGS Verification of MD Compliance No. MD GZES2403005468MD (UFACTORY Robotic Arm, Model No. XI13, XI15) · SGS-CSTC Standards Technical Services Co., Ltd. (published by UFACTORY) (manufacturer)
    SGS verification document, published by UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 2 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 1. Safety · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 9 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 2. Hardware Installation · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 2 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 3. Controller Electrical Interface · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 6 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 4. Robotic Electrical Interface · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 4 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 7. Production Information · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 11 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual (online), 8. Technical Specifications · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 16 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 Hardware Manual V2.6.1 (PDF) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 product page · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 17 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY 850 User Manual V2.3.0 (PDF, older edition) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 15 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Dual-Arm Robot Self-Collision Detection: Enhancing Safety & Risk Assessment (R&D Stage) · UFACTORY (video)
    © UFACTORY, via YouTube · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-22 · cited by 1 record here · Watch on YouTube (opens YouTube) Captions: no
  • UFACTORY Release Note v2.7.0 · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Release Note v2.8.2 · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-10-13 · cited by 2 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Release Note, Version List · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-10-26 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio product and download page · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio screens and a control-box photo for the xArm 850, 2026-10-22: what they show (OBSERVATIONS.md) · Derek Stringfellow (project owner)
    Derek Stringfellow, project record · Project-internal record · retrieved 2026-10-22 · cited by 1 record here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • UFACTORY Studio User Manual (online), 2. Glossary · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio User Manual (online), 7. Settings · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-10-13 · cited by 6 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio User Manual (online), 9. Motion Characteristics · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio V2.7.0 New Feature · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • UFACTORY Studio's Device Info page for the xArm 850, screenshot (2026-10-16) · Derek Stringfellow (project owner)
    Derek Stringfellow, project record · Project-internal record · retrieved 2026-10-16 · cited by 1 record here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • Updated ISO 10218: Answers to Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) (A3 blog, 03/20/2025; Wayback Machine snapshot 2025-10-06) · Association for Advancing Automation (A3) (secondary)
    © Association for Advancing Automation (A3) · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • xArm 850 S2 Project: Open Questions for IntelliMake, Batch 01 responses · IntelliMake.org (IntelliMake)
    © IntelliMake.org. Used with permission. · Cleared for use by its owner · retrieved 2026-09-29 · cited by 2 records here · Project copy; not published on this site.
  • xArm Developer Manual V2.0.1 (PDF) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY · All rights reserved; quoted briefly as evidence · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • xArm-Python-SDK API code description (doc/api/xarm_api_code.md) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xArm-Python-SDK, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • xArm-Python-SDK API documentation (doc/api/xarm_api.md) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xArm-Python-SDK, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 2 records here · Open the source
  • xArm-Python-SDK README (GitHub) · UFACTORY (xArm-Developer) (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xArm-Python-SDK, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source
  • xarm_ros ReadMe (ROS 1, master branch) · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xarm_ros, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 2 records here · Open the source
  • xarm_ros2 (branch humble), xarm_description/urdf/uf850/uf850.urdf.xacro · UFACTORY (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xarm_ros2, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 3 records here · Open the source
  • xarm_ros2 README (GitHub, humble branch) · UFACTORY (xArm-Developer) (manufacturer)
    © UFACTORY Inc., xArm-Developer/xarm_ros2, BSD 3-Clause License · BSD-3-Clause · retrieved 2026-09-21 · cited by 1 record here · Open the source

IntelliMake diagrams are redrawn as native figures, © IntelliMake.org. UFACTORY does not endorse this platform.

All sources and attribution